How to activate or deactivate the Memories option in Snapchat on Android and IOS devices.

Author
Jascha Luca
Publication date
27.10.2016
Ilość komentarzy
0

Snapchat has recently added a new feature called “Memories” which might seem like a dramatic shift from snapchat’s original model of timed, Self destroying pictures, famously called snaps. For those not familiar with the concept of snaps and Snapchat in general, snaps are images that are only viewable for a short period of time, which is set by the user and sent to anyone on their friends list. Time limits for displaying snaps can be set from 1 second to 10 seconds.

snapchat_memories_on

You may also be curious about using the secret "encrypted" conversations option in Facebook Messenger 

Before moving on to the process of turning the function on or off it’s best to understand exactly what “Memories” is. Memories is the new way to save your Snaps and stories, similar to how your phone’s gallery, picture folder, or camera roll works. It is suspected to be a new and upcoming competitor for Facebook’s albums.  A collection of all your favourite memories you've taken in snapchat. Before memories was added it was still possible to download your snaps and stories saving them onto your phone. A more timely process.

Memories a step in the direction to make saving snaps faster and easier?

Memories however is a step in the direction of making life easier.  Accessing memories is simply done by swiping up on the camera home screen in snapchat.  Memories are linked to each individuals Snapchat account and are backed up to cloud, making them accessible at anytime, so long as you have access to the internet, so long as you are logged in to your account. This new feature has been received with mixed emotions, a divide of for and against memories suspected to be close to a 50/50 split.

If you are an avid fan of the new “Memories” concept, or feel completely betrayed, because you just don’t like the idea of saving snaps to the cloud and are looking for an option other than uninstalling, Fear not! Memories has an “on” and “off” switch. It can be “activated” and “deactivated” whenever you choose. 

Turning the new Memories function "ON" and "OFF"

The first thing you have to do is open Snapchat on your Android or IOS device. Now click  the Snapchat icon located at the top center of the screen. Next the top right hand corner for the setting icon. This screen displays, your account information, general preferences and all the basic app settings.  If you scroll down to the very bottom of "my account" you will see the "Memories" tab. Tap here, to enter for memories settings. Inside the memories tab access, "Save to..." Inside this menu there are three options available. 

Snapchat_IOS_Android

Memories:  If you choose this option snapchat will save all snaps videos and stories to the memoires section and backs them up on the cloud. Therefore memories will be set as “active”. If you wish to have memoires set as "deactive" selecting “Camera Roll” is required.  

Memories & Camera Roll: This option will automatically save snaps videos and stories to both folders, memories and your camera roll. Selecting this option is going to use twice as much space as both of the other selectable options.and data as pictures and video are being sent to the cloud also.

Camera Roll Only: When taking snaps and videos having this option selected will save all your snaps stories and videos to your devices camera roll only. Memories "deactive" Mode.

Note: Saving to memories is set as the default new location for snaps and Videos, as seen at the far right of the below picture.

Snapchat_on_off_memories_camerrroll

It is important to remember that the core principle of Snapchat hasn’t changed with this new feature being implemented. All your snaps will still have a timer, and you can still use snapchat without memories and the cloud. Just remember after downloading or updating Snapchat memories will be set to active by default.

Join the discussion

comments powered by Disqus